Heritage TitleDUPLEX (DEMOLISHED), 11 ESSEX STREETAddressCarpark 43 (Essex St) 11 Essex Street FREMANTLE WA 6160Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No23406Year Of Demolition1986Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: ZincalumeWall – BRICK: Pointed BrickWall – STONE: LimestoneFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: SettlementsStatement Of SignificanceDuplex, 9-11 Essex Street, demolished 1986, is significant as a site because of its association with the mill at 15 Essex Street. 3-13 Essex Street originally comprised cottages and warehouses from 1900, associated with the Port Flour Mill.ArchaeologyConditionDEMOLISHEDHistoryEssex Street was included in the 1832 town plan. It is named after the English county, as per Norfolk and Suffolk Streets. Lots 170-182 were soon taken up (Nos. 5-21). The buildings in Essex Street, unlike those in High Street, were not replaced in the 1890s boom, and those that remain extant date from the convict era of development. 3-13 Essex Street originally comprised cottages and warehouses from 1900, associated with the Port Flour Mill. Nos. 9-11 was originally semi detached single storey cottages. See DA File 522/85 for development c1986 by Temelcos Zambotti Architects. Physical DescriptionDEMOLISHEDAssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Conjoined residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceIntegrity/AuthenticityDEMOLISHEDPlace TypeIndividual Building or Group
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryHistoric/Archaeological Site