HOUSE, 8 FRANCISCO STREET, South Fremantle WA 6160
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE, 8 FRANCISCO STREETAddress8 Francisco Street SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No20665Street Number8Construction Commenced1896Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: Corrugated IronWall – STONE: LimestoneFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionStatement Of SignificanceHOUSE, 8 FRANCISCO STREET, is a limestone and iron single storey house dating from 1896 and is a representative example of late 19th-century residential development in the area. Constructed in 1896, the house reflects the expansion of Fremantle during the late 19th century, a time when the Western Australian gold rush brought economic growth and increased settlement.
Designed originally in the Victorian Georgian style, the house appears to have had alterations over time. As an example of modest 19th-century housing, it represents the daily lives of the working- and middle-class residents who contributed to the development of Fremantle. As part of Fremantle’s historic urban fabric, the house contributes to the collective identity of the area. It reflects the residential styles of the late 19th century.
The house contributes to Fremantle’s community identity, representing a period when the area saw increased residential development to accommodate a growing population. It remains significant as part of the city’s evolving heritage and connection to its working-class
past.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryFrancisco Street is named after Alexander Francisco, who was associated with Lionel Samson & Son. He later conducted a spirit merchant’s business of his own, and held the position of postmaster. He was also on the Fremantle Town Trust in 1848, 1857-63 and again 1865-66. Francisco Street was developed in the late 1890s. House, 8 Francisco Street was built c. 1895. It is listed in the Post Office Directory in 1898 and by 1901 was owned by Henry Clemens and occupied by George Fletcher, an electrician. Henry owned both 6 and 8 Francisco Street, which were two cottages leased to tenants and were rated together. By the early 1930s, the house was owned by David Ewings and occupied by William Arnott. David also owned the cottage next door at No. 6, where he lived. David Ewings owned both cottages until c. 1945. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated 1954 shows House, 8 Francisco Street as a rectangular brick house with a full length front verandah enclosed at one end with asbestos. A cePhysical Description8 Francisco Street is a single storey, limestone and iron house with a symmetrical facade built c.1896 and designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are limestone. The roof is skillion and clad with corrugated iron (possibly a later modified roof form). The façade is symmetrical with a central front door flanked on either side by double hung sash windows. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported on timber posts. The house is situated below street level. There is a limestone wall to the front boundary line.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceIntegrity/AuthenticityMedium degree of integrity (original intent mostly clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). Medium degree of authenticity with some original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Designed originally in the Victorian Georgian style, the house appears to have had alterations over time. As an example of modest 19th-century housing, it represents the daily lives of the working- and middle-class residents who contributed to the development of Fremantle. As part of Fremantle’s historic urban fabric, the house contributes to the collective identity of the area. It reflects the residential styles of the late 19th century.
The house contributes to Fremantle’s community identity, representing a period when the area saw increased residential development to accommodate a growing population. It remains significant as part of the city’s evolving heritage and connection to its working-class
past.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryFrancisco Street is named after Alexander Francisco, who was associated with Lionel Samson & Son. He later conducted a spirit merchant’s business of his own, and held the position of postmaster. He was also on the Fremantle Town Trust in 1848, 1857-63 and again 1865-66. Francisco Street was developed in the late 1890s. House, 8 Francisco Street was built c. 1895. It is listed in the Post Office Directory in 1898 and by 1901 was owned by Henry Clemens and occupied by George Fletcher, an electrician. Henry owned both 6 and 8 Francisco Street, which were two cottages leased to tenants and were rated together. By the early 1930s, the house was owned by David Ewings and occupied by William Arnott. David also owned the cottage next door at No. 6, where he lived. David Ewings owned both cottages until c. 1945. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated 1954 shows House, 8 Francisco Street as a rectangular brick house with a full length front verandah enclosed at one end with asbestos. A cePhysical Description8 Francisco Street is a single storey, limestone and iron house with a symmetrical facade built c.1896 and designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are limestone. The roof is skillion and clad with corrugated iron (possibly a later modified roof form). The façade is symmetrical with a central front door flanked on either side by double hung sash windows. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported on timber posts. The house is situated below street level. There is a limestone wall to the front boundary line.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceIntegrity/AuthenticityMedium degree of integrity (original intent mostly clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). Medium degree of authenticity with some original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Statutory Heritage Areas
Statutory Heritage Area CustodianCity of FremantleStatutory Heritage Area South Fremantle Heritage AreaHeritage Area StatusContributoryHeritage Area InHerit Number22386Statutory Heritage Area Date14/10/2000
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date27/08/2025
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date27/08/2025Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 3
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22386Parent place nameSouth Fremantle Heritage Area
RELATED
HOUSE, 8 FRANCISCO STREET, South Fremantle WA 6160. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 19/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/37018



