HOUSE, 22 LILLY STREET, SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE, 22 LILLY STREETAddress22 Lilly Street SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No21176Street Number22Construction Commenced1900 cConstruction MaterialRoof – METAL: Corrugated IronWall – BRICK: Face BrickWall – STONE: LimestoneFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionStatement Of SignificanceHOUSE, 22 LILLY STREET a single-storey, single room width, limestone, brick quoined and iron house with an asymmetrical façade is a representative example of late 19th-century residential development in the area. Built in the Victorian Georgian style, the house reflects typical style of the period.
Constructed in 1900, the house reflects the expansion of Fremantle during the late 19th century, a time when the Western Australian gold rush brought economic growth and increased settlement. Its timber-framed construction and iron roofing are indicative of the resourceful building practices of the time, particularly in working-class and middle-class areas where accessible and durable materials were favoured.
As an example of modest 19th-century housing, it represents the daily lives of the working- and middle-class residents who contributed to the development of Fremantle. As part of Fremantle’s historic urban fabric, the house contributes to the collective identity of the area. It reflects the residential styles of the late 19th century.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryLilly Street is named after James Lilly, who was manager of the Adelaide Steamship Company from 1886 to 1889. Lilly was born in Tasmania in 1845 and died in Claremont in 1905. The majority of the houses in the street date from the 1890s and early 1900s. House, 22 Lilly Street was built prior to 1900. In 1900, it was listed in the rate book as a cottage owned by John Linderman and occupied by George Harfield. The Linderman family continued to own the cottage until the early 1920s, and it was occupied by a succession of tenants during this time. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated c. 1910 shows a small brick residence with a full length front verandah. It was built on the southern half of a lot shared with No. 20. At the rear of House, 22 Lilly Street, there two small fenced areas and two sheds located on the southern boundary. By 1923, House, 22 Lilly Street was owned an occupied by H Arnott. Between c. 1930 and at least 1982, the house was owned and occupied by Sidney and Elizabeth Mountain. Elizabeth lived there by herself in her later years. House, 22 Lilly Street has had a couple of owners in recent decades. This place was included in the list of heritage places in the City of Fremantle identified by the Fremantle Society (1979/80) - RED -significant for contributing to the unique character of Fremantle. Physical Description22 Lilly Street is a single storey, single room width, limestone, brick and iron house built c 1898 with an asymmetrical facade designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are limestone and brick quoins. The roof is hipped and clad with corrugated iron. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported by timber posts with decorative iron brackets. The door is situated to the left side with a pair of double hung sash windows to the right. There is a corbelled brick chimney evident. There is a brick and iron fence to the front boundary line.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceIntegrity/AuthenticityHigh degree of integrity (original intent clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). High degree of authenticity with much original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Constructed in 1900, the house reflects the expansion of Fremantle during the late 19th century, a time when the Western Australian gold rush brought economic growth and increased settlement. Its timber-framed construction and iron roofing are indicative of the resourceful building practices of the time, particularly in working-class and middle-class areas where accessible and durable materials were favoured.
As an example of modest 19th-century housing, it represents the daily lives of the working- and middle-class residents who contributed to the development of Fremantle. As part of Fremantle’s historic urban fabric, the house contributes to the collective identity of the area. It reflects the residential styles of the late 19th century.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryLilly Street is named after James Lilly, who was manager of the Adelaide Steamship Company from 1886 to 1889. Lilly was born in Tasmania in 1845 and died in Claremont in 1905. The majority of the houses in the street date from the 1890s and early 1900s. House, 22 Lilly Street was built prior to 1900. In 1900, it was listed in the rate book as a cottage owned by John Linderman and occupied by George Harfield. The Linderman family continued to own the cottage until the early 1920s, and it was occupied by a succession of tenants during this time. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated c. 1910 shows a small brick residence with a full length front verandah. It was built on the southern half of a lot shared with No. 20. At the rear of House, 22 Lilly Street, there two small fenced areas and two sheds located on the southern boundary. By 1923, House, 22 Lilly Street was owned an occupied by H Arnott. Between c. 1930 and at least 1982, the house was owned and occupied by Sidney and Elizabeth Mountain. Elizabeth lived there by herself in her later years. House, 22 Lilly Street has had a couple of owners in recent decades. This place was included in the list of heritage places in the City of Fremantle identified by the Fremantle Society (1979/80) - RED -significant for contributing to the unique character of Fremantle. Physical Description22 Lilly Street is a single storey, single room width, limestone, brick and iron house built c 1898 with an asymmetrical facade designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are limestone and brick quoins. The roof is hipped and clad with corrugated iron. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported by timber posts with decorative iron brackets. The door is situated to the left side with a pair of double hung sash windows to the right. There is a corbelled brick chimney evident. There is a brick and iron fence to the front boundary line.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceIntegrity/AuthenticityHigh degree of integrity (original intent clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). High degree of authenticity with much original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Statutory Heritage Areas
Statutory Heritage Area CustodianCity of FremantleStatutory Heritage Area South Fremantle Heritage AreaHeritage Area StatusContributoryHeritage Area InHerit Number22386Statutory Heritage Area Date14/10/2000
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date27/08/2025
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date27/08/2025Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 3
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22386Parent place nameSouth Fremantle Heritage Area
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
HOUSE, 22 LILLY STREET, SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 19/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/37423



