HOUSE & LIMESTONE FEATURE(S), 37 LILLY STREET (Also 116 ATTFIELD STREET), SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE & LIMESTONE FEATURE(S), 37 LILLY STREET (Also 116 ATTFIELD STREET)Address37 Lilly Street (Also 116 Attfield Street), SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No21180Location DescriptionStreet Number37Construction Commenced1898Construction MaterialFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionStatement Of SignificanceSignificant for the limestone stables located to the rear of 37 Lilly Street (Also 116 Attfield Street) which are aelement of the once thriving horse racing and stable industry located in South Fremantle.
Use of limestone as part of the Fremantle landscape gives the City coherence and character. Limestone walls are one commonly encountered example of use of this stone as a building material, most of them dating from the 19th century and early years of the 20th century. It is not known how old this particular wall is.ArchaeologyConditionHistoryLilly Street is named after James Lilly, who was manager of the Adelaide Steamship Company from 1886 to 1889. Lilly was born in Tasmania in 1845 and died in Claremont in 1905. The majority of the houses in the street date from the 1890s and early 1900s. This place was identified in the "Heritage Report on 19th century limestone walls and steps in Fremantle" prepared by Silvana Grassadonia, for the City of Fremantle, 1986. Limestone walls were built around properties in Fremantle to prevent sand drift in response to an early building regulation dating from the 1830s. The use of limestone is part of the Fremantle landscape and gives the City coherence and character. Most of the limestone in small walls came from local quarries. House, 37 Lilly Street was built prior to 1900. In that year, it was listed in the rate books as a cottage owned by Robert Holmes and occupied by Charles Wilem. By 1904/05, the cottage was owned and occupied by William Waddington. By 1912/13, ownership had been transferred to Florence Waddington and John O’Connor was the occupant. By 1902, there was a cottage and stables at 118 Attfield Street, owned by R H Holmes and occupied by Alexander Watson, a manager. In the lot to the north, there was a large roofed stable and several galvanised iron structures. However, the stables were associated with 37 Lilly Street, not 118 Attfield Street. The Lilly St house and stables (ie 2 back to back lots) were all fenced as one – this fence was quite substantial and was probably built of limestone. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated c. 1910 shows a stone residence at 37 Lilly Street with a full length front verandah. A stone wing with verandah extended along the northern boundary at the back of the house. A substantial fence extended around both this lot and the one behind it (118 Attfield Street), where stables were located. Ms Waddington owned 37 Lilly Street until c. 1930 and continued to rent it to tenants. Ernest Waddington became the owner c. 1930 and moved into the house; in 1942, Nellie Waddington was listed as the owner. The house changed hands twice in 1942/43, first to Elise Brown and then to Gladys Bower. Ms Bower owned the property until c. 1958. By 1960, House, 37 Lilly Street was owned and occupied by Clarke Dower. In that year, it was bought by Paolo and Antonio Scaramella. In 2004, the property was still owned by the Scaramella family. Physical DescriptionRECOMMENDED FOR DELETION 2010 - Not ExtantAssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – OTHER: OtherOther Use – OTHER: OtherPresent Use – OTHER: OtherArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityPlace TypeHistoric site
Use of limestone as part of the Fremantle landscape gives the City coherence and character. Limestone walls are one commonly encountered example of use of this stone as a building material, most of them dating from the 19th century and early years of the 20th century. It is not known how old this particular wall is.ArchaeologyConditionHistoryLilly Street is named after James Lilly, who was manager of the Adelaide Steamship Company from 1886 to 1889. Lilly was born in Tasmania in 1845 and died in Claremont in 1905. The majority of the houses in the street date from the 1890s and early 1900s. This place was identified in the "Heritage Report on 19th century limestone walls and steps in Fremantle" prepared by Silvana Grassadonia, for the City of Fremantle, 1986. Limestone walls were built around properties in Fremantle to prevent sand drift in response to an early building regulation dating from the 1830s. The use of limestone is part of the Fremantle landscape and gives the City coherence and character. Most of the limestone in small walls came from local quarries. House, 37 Lilly Street was built prior to 1900. In that year, it was listed in the rate books as a cottage owned by Robert Holmes and occupied by Charles Wilem. By 1904/05, the cottage was owned and occupied by William Waddington. By 1912/13, ownership had been transferred to Florence Waddington and John O’Connor was the occupant. By 1902, there was a cottage and stables at 118 Attfield Street, owned by R H Holmes and occupied by Alexander Watson, a manager. In the lot to the north, there was a large roofed stable and several galvanised iron structures. However, the stables were associated with 37 Lilly Street, not 118 Attfield Street. The Lilly St house and stables (ie 2 back to back lots) were all fenced as one – this fence was quite substantial and was probably built of limestone. A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated c. 1910 shows a stone residence at 37 Lilly Street with a full length front verandah. A stone wing with verandah extended along the northern boundary at the back of the house. A substantial fence extended around both this lot and the one behind it (118 Attfield Street), where stables were located. Ms Waddington owned 37 Lilly Street until c. 1930 and continued to rent it to tenants. Ernest Waddington became the owner c. 1930 and moved into the house; in 1942, Nellie Waddington was listed as the owner. The house changed hands twice in 1942/43, first to Elise Brown and then to Gladys Bower. Ms Bower owned the property until c. 1958. By 1960, House, 37 Lilly Street was owned and occupied by Clarke Dower. In that year, it was bought by Paolo and Antonio Scaramella. In 2004, the property was still owned by the Scaramella family. Physical DescriptionRECOMMENDED FOR DELETION 2010 - Not ExtantAssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – OTHER: OtherOther Use – OTHER: OtherPresent Use – OTHER: OtherArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityPlace TypeHistoric site
Statutory Heritage Areas
Statutory Heritage Area CustodianCity of FremantleStatutory Heritage Area South Fremantle Heritage AreaHeritage Area StatusContributoryHeritage Area InHerit Number22386Statutory Heritage Area Date14/10/2000
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date08/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 2
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22386Parent place nameSouth Fremantle Heritage Area
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
HOUSE & LIMESTONE FEATURE(S), 37 LILLY STREET (Also 116 ATTFIELD STREET), SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 19/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/37439



