Open/Close Toolbox
Format: Place
Linked To
Statutory Heritage Area SuburbStreetCollectionPublication
Map
THE MEETING PLACE' COMMUNITY CENTRE, 245 SOUTH TERRACE
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleTHE MEETING PLACE' COMMUNITY CENTRE, 245 SOUTH TERRACEAddressSouth Terrace, 245, South Fremantle WA 6162Summary245 South Terrace SOUTH FREMANTLE WA 6162Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No23271Location DescriptionStreet Number245Other NamesHouse, 245 South TerraceConstruction Commenced1896Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: ZincalumeRoof – TILE: Terracotta TileWall – BRICK: Rendered BrickFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionSOCIAL & CIVIC ACTIVITIES: Cultural activitiesStatement Of Significance'The Meeting Place' community centre, 245 South Terrace, is a typical rendered masonry and tile single storey house dating from c 1896. The place has aesthetic value for its contribution to the streetscape and the surrounding area. It is representative of the typical workers' houses in the Fremantle area. The place has historic value as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. It is representative of the typical workers' houses in the Fremantle area. This place is of social value to the local community as the site has been used for multi-cultural activities and sharing since the 1970s.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryHouse, 245 South Terrace was built in 1896 for James Manning. By 1897, Edwin Brown, a boat builder, was the owner and occupant. Mr Brown continued to live in the place until c. 1920, when it was occupied by William Mitchell.
By 1934, House, 245 South Terrace was owned and occupied by Georgina Caporn. Percival James was the owner and occupier from c. 1940 until the mid-1950s.
A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated 1955 shows a brick residence built against the western boundary. The house had a full length front verandah, a brick addition down the northern side and a smaller asbestos addition on the southern side, with a verandah in between. A path lead across the front of the house, down the southern side and to the back of the yard.
A & G Spinozzi were the owners in 1966. By 1974, the City of Fremantle had purchased the property for use as a community meeting place where cross-cultural courses are run.
This place was included in the list of heritage places in the City of Fremantle identified by the Fremantle Society (1979/80) - BROWN -significant for making a positive contribution to the built environment of Fremantle.
A Heritage Assessment was prepared in June 2009 by the City of Fremantle for a DA submission to Council for the replacement of the clay tiled roof with zincalume cladding.
In August 2025 the place was changed from a LHS Level 3 to Level 2, retained on the Heritage List and Identified as a Contributory Place in the South Fremantle Heritage Area.Physical Description245 South Terrace is a single storey, brick and tile (roof cladding replaced with zincalume in 2009) house with a symmetrical façade built in 1896 and designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are rendered masonry. The roof is pitched and clad with tiles. The façade is symmetrical with a central front door with side and fanlights and double casement windows. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported on turned timber posts with decorative timber brackets. There is a timber fence to the front boundary line. In 2008 the place is used for a community centre.
A Heritage Assessment was prepared in June 2009 by the City of Fremantle for a DA submission to Council for the replacement of the clay tiled roof with zincalume cladding.AssociationAllen & Nicholas, 1955 renovationsT AnthonessPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – SOCIAL\RECREATIONAL: Other Community Hall\CentrePresent Use – MONUMENT\CEMETERY: MonumentArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityHigh degree of integrity (original intent clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). High degree of authenticity with much original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
By 1934, House, 245 South Terrace was owned and occupied by Georgina Caporn. Percival James was the owner and occupier from c. 1940 until the mid-1950s.
A Metropolitan Sewerage plan dated 1955 shows a brick residence built against the western boundary. The house had a full length front verandah, a brick addition down the northern side and a smaller asbestos addition on the southern side, with a verandah in between. A path lead across the front of the house, down the southern side and to the back of the yard.
A & G Spinozzi were the owners in 1966. By 1974, the City of Fremantle had purchased the property for use as a community meeting place where cross-cultural courses are run.
This place was included in the list of heritage places in the City of Fremantle identified by the Fremantle Society (1979/80) - BROWN -significant for making a positive contribution to the built environment of Fremantle.
A Heritage Assessment was prepared in June 2009 by the City of Fremantle for a DA submission to Council for the replacement of the clay tiled roof with zincalume cladding.
In August 2025 the place was changed from a LHS Level 3 to Level 2, retained on the Heritage List and Identified as a Contributory Place in the South Fremantle Heritage Area.Physical Description245 South Terrace is a single storey, brick and tile (roof cladding replaced with zincalume in 2009) house with a symmetrical façade built in 1896 and designed as an example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. The walls are rendered masonry. The roof is pitched and clad with tiles. The façade is symmetrical with a central front door with side and fanlights and double casement windows. The verandah has a separate corrugated iron roof supported on turned timber posts with decorative timber brackets. There is a timber fence to the front boundary line. In 2008 the place is used for a community centre.
A Heritage Assessment was prepared in June 2009 by the City of Fremantle for a DA submission to Council for the replacement of the clay tiled roof with zincalume cladding.AssociationAllen & Nicholas, 1955 renovationsT AnthonessPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – SOCIAL\RECREATIONAL: Other Community Hall\CentrePresent Use – MONUMENT\CEMETERY: MonumentArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityHigh degree of integrity (original intent clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability). High degree of authenticity with much original fabric remaining. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Statutory Heritage Areas
Statutory Heritage Area CustodianCity of FremantleStatutory Heritage Area South Fremantle Heritage AreaHeritage Area StatusContributoryHeritage Area InHerit Number22386Statutory Heritage Area Date14/10/2000
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 2
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22386Parent place nameSouth Fremantle Heritage Area
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
THE MEETING PLACE' COMMUNITY CENTRE, 245 SOUTH TERRACE. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 19/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/37899




