Reference numberE000237DescriptionAtwell Buildings, 112-122 High Street was completed between 1895 and 1929, by architect J. NcNeece, a two storey commercial building which is now part of the Mall. The new building replaced an older house and shop. In 1898, J. H. Pellew, draper, occupied the shop and rooms on High Street. In 1903 Henry Atwell and E. Atwell bought the building and leasing the shop to Pellew and in 1906 other buildings were replaced and incorporated into the existing long facade. In 1929 the arcade was constructed and Sarah Phoebe Atwell became sole owner. In 1979 Atwell's arcade was renovated. Much of the 1905 shopfront remained unaltered. In 1985 when an application was made to construct a new front to Pellew's drapery the application was refused by Council. Pellew's went out of business in the 1990s. In 2002 the building comprised various commercial and retail outlets. Culley's, a tea rooms in the building, serving Fremantle since 1925 was a Heritage Festival award winner - (Significant contribution to Fremantle's Heritage by an individual or group), 2009.Date1985PhotographerWatkins, SkipPhotograph FormatPhotographDigital ItemYes
RestrictionsContact the Fremantle History CentreConditions of useYou may print copy or download images for private research. This image may be reproduced for non-commercial purposes with acknowledgement e.g. [Image courtesy of City of Fremantle History Centre - Reference number]. To obtain copies for commercial purposes or of a higher resolution contact the Fremantle History Centre via email lhc@fremantle.wa.gov.auLocationPhotographic Collection
Click on the image to add a tag or press ESC to cancel
Atwell Buildings, 112-122 High St Fremantle (1985). City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 20/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/8680