Finnerty Street, 28, Fremantle WA 6160
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE, 28 FINNERTY STREETAddress28 Finnerty Street FREMANTLE WA 6160Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No20646Location DescriptionStreet Number28Construction Commenced1893Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: ZincalumeWall – BRICK: Common BrickWall – STONE: LimestoneFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: SettlementsStatement Of SignificanceThe place is a good example of a stone residence in the Victorian Georgian style, representing the expansion of Fremantle in the gold boom period of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The place contributes to a substantially intact late nineteenth and early twentieth century streetscape close to the centre of Fremantle.ArchaeologyConditionHistoryFinnerty Street is named for Colonel Finnerty of the Western Australian Pensioner Forces. In 1876, while still a major, Finnerty was in charge when the Georgette tried to obtain the return of the escaped Fenians from the American ship Catalpa. The eastern end of Burt St from East St to the bend also used to be Finnerty St, but was renamed Burt St in 1995. House 28 Finnerty Street is located on part of Lot 867. The first entry for Lot 867 appears in the 1893 Fremantle rate books. From 1893 to 1898 Mrs Mary Kennedy, a widow is recorded as the owner/occupier of a six room cottage on the lot. In 1899 there are two cottages on Lot 867 both owned by Mrs Kennedy and both have no occupant listed. It is not known which of these cottages is located at 28 Finnerty Street. In 1900 the owner of 28 Finnerty Street is W. J. Kennedy and the occupant is W. Kennedy, a warder. By 1905/06 William Kennedy is the owner and John Woolcock, a warder is the occupant. From circa 1910/11 to the early 1920s Nellie Maud Kennedy, known as Nellie Maud Scott in 1920/21, is the owner of the property. Nellie has several tenants in this time including Charles Toffman in 1910/11, Francis O’Donnell in 1915/16 and Harold John Dawkins in 1920/21. By 1925/26 Francis Josiah Clegg is the owner/occupier and he resides at the house until at least 1935/36. In 1940/41 Alfred George Marsh is Clegg’s tenant. The house was originally numbered 52 and changed to the current number in the mid1930s and is located on part of what was the much bigger Lot 867. Physical DescriptionSingle storey stone with brick quoining banding and to corners and window and door openings to the walls of the house. There is a zincalume hipped roof and a bull nosed verandah supported by timber posts and timber brackets.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityPlace TypeIndividual Building or Group
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 2
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
Finnerty Street, 28, Fremantle WA 6160. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 18/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/27614



