Heritage TitleDUPLEX, 16 TUCKFIELD STREETAddress16 Tuckfield Street FREMANTLE WA 6160Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No23378Location DescriptionStreet Number16Construction Commenced1887Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: ZincalumeRoof – TILE: Aluminium TileWall – BRICK: Common BrickWall – RENDER: SmoothFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: SettlementsStatement Of SignificanceThe place is a good example of an attached pair of residences dating from the period of expansion of Fremantle in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The place contributes to a substantially intact late nineteenth and early twentieth century streetscape close to the centre of Fremantle.ArchaeologyConditionHistoryA three room cottage was erected on the lot in 1887 for Joshua Davies. In 1888 two cottages are listed on the lot. They were owned by Charles Walker and occupied By William Harner and Edward Annear.Physical DescriptionDuplex 14-16 Tuckfield Street is a single storey stone (no 16 is rendered) and brick quoining to corners and window and door openings to the walls of the house. There is a gabled roof which is zincalume and a chimney with corbelling extant on no 14 and a tile (not original) on no 16. AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Conjoined residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Conjoined residenceArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityPlace TypeIndividual Building or Group
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 3
Tuckfield Street, 16, Fremantle WA 6160. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 19/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/31459