Tydeman Road, 34, North Fremantle WA 6159
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE, 34 TYDEMAN ROADAddress34 Tydeman Road NORTH FREMANTLE WA 6159Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No22251Location DescriptionStreet Number34Construction Commenced1890Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: Corrugated IronWall – BRICK: Face BrickWall – BRICK: Rendered BrickFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionStatement Of SignificanceHouse, 34 Tydeman Road, is a typical brick and iron single storey cottage dating from the 1890s. The place has aesthetic value for its contribution to the streetscape and the surrounding area. It is representative of the typical building stock located within the residential areas of North Fremantle. Historically significant as a representation of typical workers' houses in the North Fremantle area. The place is a simple modified example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryTydeman Road runs west to east between Port Beach Road and Stirling Highway. It is a major arterial road taking traffic from the beachfront to the major through roads of Stirling Highway and Queen Victoria Street. This street has had several name changes over the years. Originally known as Pensioner Road, the street was renamed John Street in 1913 after Fremantle councillor, W John (1885-1891). The section of road west of Stirling Highway was renamed Tydeman Road in 1968 when a new street was created as a result of the reclamation of the river foreshore. The name changed again in 1968 when a new street was created as a result of reclamation of the river foreshore between Stirling Highway and Bruce Street. The name Tydeman was chosen in honour of Frank Williams Edward Tydeman, General Manager of Chief Engineer of the Fremantle Port Authority. The street was originally residential on the northern side with industrial uses occupying the southern side of the road. The stone, brick and iron house at 34 Tydeman Road (formerly 84 John Street) was built between 1890 and 1897 for an unidentified owner. It was originally part of Lot P41 owned by gentlemen William Edward Marmion of Fremantle, James Grave, Edward Keane, Edmund Gilyard Lacey and Frederick Charles Monger, all of Perth. This group subdivided the lot in approximately 1890 for residential development. The house is shown on an 1897 plan of the area. Between 1925 and 1935 the place was owned by Annie Smith, who leased the property to a variety of tenants including Adam John Hardy and F. Wilson. Ownership of the place in the latter half of the twentieth century has not been established. In 1940, the house retained its original form and the rear of the property housed weatherboard laundry. In 1987, the City of Fremantle undertook a heritage assessment of the place that included the following description: ‘All masonry is tuck-pointed and of good quality and in a sound state. The house has an unusual bathroom and laundry built of brick with limestone quoins around the openings. The outside screening walls are also built of brick with arched bays. The verandah still has its cast iron lace balustrade largely intact although it is in a dangerous state due to the damaged timber structure. Internally it has a central wide passage and six rooms on either side. All internal, significant features such as the original joinery, fireplaces and their mantelpieces, ceiling rosettes, plaster decorations etc are still intact.’ At this time, the City of Fremantle considered the possibility of purchasing the property for repair and resale. This place was included in the 'North Fremantle Heritage Study' (1994) as a place contributing to the development and heritage of North Fremantle. It was also included in the list of heritage places in the City of Fremantle identified by the Fremantle Society (1979/80) - RED -significant for contributing to the unique character of Fremantle. Physical DescriptionHouse, 34 Tydeman Road, is a single storey brick and iron cottage with symmetrical facade designed as a late example of the Victorian Georgian style of architecture. Walls are red face brick to the front and rendered brick elsewhere. Roof is hipped corrugated iron with no eaves. Verandah is under separate bullnose corrugated iron roof. Verandah is supported by timber posts with ornate iron filigree frieze and brackets. Front elevation is symmetrical with two timber sash windows and a central front door. There is a high rendered brick wall and metal gate to the front boundary on one side and the verandah has been removed on the other side and an open area created for a parking space on the other side. The cottage has been substantially altered in renovations.AssociationPlace UseOriginal Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residencePresent Use – RESIDENTIAL: Single storey residenceArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityMedium degree of integrity (original intent clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability, restored, some unsympathetic alterations). Medium degree of authenticity with some fabric loss. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 3
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22385
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
Tydeman Road, 34, North Fremantle WA 6159. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 18/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/35789



