Tydeman Road, 40, North Fremantle WA 6159
DESCRIPTION
Heritage TitleHOUSE & FORMER BAKERY, 40 TYDEMAN ROADAddress40 Tydeman Road NORTH FREMANTLE WA 6159Geo tag[1] Heritage Place No22253Location DescriptionStreet Number40Construction Commenced1913Construction MaterialRoof – METAL: Corrugated IronWall – BRICK: Face BrickWall – BRICK: Rendered BrickWall – STONE: LimestoneFormer W.A. Heritage ThemesDEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY: Land allocation & subdivisionOCCUPATIONS: Manufacturing & processingStatement Of SignificanceHouse and Former Bakery, 40 Tydeman Road, containing a typical stone and iron single storey house and a brick and weatherboard former bakery building has aesthetic value for its contribution to the streetscape and the surrounding area. It is representative of the typical residential and commercial building stock located within this area of North Fremantle. Historically significant as a representation of former industrial uses in the North Fremantle area.ArchaeologyConditionCondition assessed as good (assessed from streetscape survey only).HistoryTydeman Road runs west to east between Port Beach Road and Stirling Highway. It is a major arterial road taking traffic from the beachfront to the major through roads of Stirling Highway and Queen Victoria Street. This street has had several name changes over the years. Originally known as Pensioner Road, the street was renamed John Street in 1913 after Fremantle councillor, W John (1885-1891). The section of road west of Stirling Highway was renamed Tydeman Road in 1968 when a new street was created as a result of the reclamation of the river foreshore. The name changed again in 1968 when a new street was created as a result of reclamation of the river foreshore between Stirling Highway and Bruce Street. The name Tydeman was chosen in honour of Frank Williams Edward Tydeman, General Manager of Chief Engineer of the Fremantle Port Authority. The street was originally residential on the northern side with industrial uses occupying the southern side of the road. The bakery at 40 Tydeman Street is located on a site with several other buildings. The office building on the corner of Tydeman and Pearse Street has elements of an older building within it. The bakery was built between 1913 and 1921 (the building is not shown on the 1913 plan of the area but appears in the Rates Books for 1921, which is when available records begin). Malachi Hallion owned the entire property in 1921 that consisted of a seven-roomed brick house, stables and a bakehouse. Malachi Hallion probably lived and worked from the site and used the stables for his horses that delivered the bread. Ellen Mary Hallion was the owner from 1930 to 1935. In 1940, the place included the stone and brick house facing Tydeman Road. The weatherboard and brick bakehouse faced Pearse Street and several stables and outbuildings were grouped around the property boundary. A well was located to the east of the bakehouse, close to the house. In 1996, the property included two factory units and the tenants included International Reefer Services, Port Panel Beater Service, Leo’s Coastal Radiator Service and Ludwig Reitzenstein and Co, Cabinet makers. The property was developed at this time to create office space in the original house. The bakehouse was converted to a one-bedroom studio apartment and the factory units were demolished. Home units have subsequently been built on the remainder of the property. Architect for the conversion design was Murray Slavin. This place was included in the 'North Fremantle Heritage Study' (1994) as a place contributing to the development and heritage of North Fremantle. Physical DescriptionHouse and Former Bakery, 40 Tydeman Road, contains several buildings including a stone and brick house facing Tydeman Road, the weatherboard and brick bakehouse facing Pearse Street and home units to the rear of the site. The house facing Tydeman Road is a single storey, limestone, brick and iron dwelling with an asymmetrical facade. The walls are limestone with red face brick quoins and reveals. The roof is half gabled corrugated iron with a verandah under a broken back corrugated iron roof. The verandah has timber posts and wraps around the east and south facades. There is a high face and rendered brick wall to the site boundary. The former bakery faces Pearse Street and is a single storey brick, weatherboard and corrugated iron building designed in a utilitarian manner. The Pearse Street elevation is red brick with a parapet concealing the roof. This elevation has a metal gate opening and two timber framed windows. The home units to the rear of the site do not have cultural heritage significance.AssociationMalachi Hallion, bakerPlace UseOther Use – RESIDENTIAL: OtherPresent Use – COMMERCIAL: OtherArchitectural StylesIntegrity/AuthenticityModerate degree of integrity (original intent partially clear, current use compatible, high long term sustainability, altered and restored, some loss of fabric and previous alterations). Moderate degree of authenticity with basic original fabric remaining.Some loss of fabric. (These statements based on street survey only).Place TypeIndividual Building or Group
Local Government Statutory Heritage Listings
Local Government Statutory Listing CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Statutory Listing TypeHeritage ListLocal Government Statutory Listing StatusYesLocal Government Statutory Listing Date8/03/2007
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey
Local Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey CustodianCity of FremantleLocal Government Non-Statutory Local Heritage Survey Date18/09/2000Local Government Non-Statutory Listing Local Heritage Survey Management CategoryLevel 3
PARENT PLACE
Parent Place No22385
RELATED
INTERNAL
Heritage EntryYes
Tydeman Road, 40, North Fremantle WA 6159. City of Fremantle Local History Centre, accessed 18/03/2026, https://history.fremantle.wa.gov.au/nodes/view/35792



